Tiger Stripe Ice Cream

Tigerstripe ice cream – orange with a licorice swirl – used to be my favourite flavour when I was about 10. This entry is not about that at all. At the risk of sounding like a totally flaky hippy health food weirdo, I need to share what I had for dessert last night. It was vanilla ice cream with plain baked squash. And it was incredibly delicious. The thing is, the squash was the Tiger Stripe Butternut  I raved about already. To illustrate how sweet, faintly spiced and maple syrup-y it tastes, I have to add that eating it with ice cream was like having the best pumpkin pie filling you have ever had, a la mode. Normally I am not even really that keen on the sweeter squash varieties because a lot of times the sweetness is cloying, or the it covers for a lack of other flavour. This squash tastes complex, and I haven’t been able to get enough of it so far.

As for the ice cream, it was So Delicious Creamy Cashew, which I am mentioning only because I think the new cashew ice creams are the best non-dairy commercially available ice creams right now, so if you’re into non-dairy ice cream, they are worth a try.

Leave a Reply

