Squash Wars: Chayote

IMG_2018Like bitter melon, I have been curious about chayote for a while and wanting to give it a try. It’s also a gourd, not actually a squash, but close enough! I ate some raw and some sliced into thin ribbons and just barely cooked in soup. I was expecting it to be fairly bland, comparably to a lot of summer squash, but to my surprise it’s somewhat sweet – almost as sweet as a decent carrot or maybe jicama or a particularly good kohlrabi. And yeah, it was nicely crispy too. I am into it!

Leave a Reply

