Squash Wars: Queensland Blue

IMG_2026

Queensland Blue, one of the many Australian blue squashes, is better tasting than the more popular Jarrahdale, according to Amy Goldman. To me it has a good but not excellent flavour – it’s blander and less sweet than kabocha or Sunshine, so maybe a good choice for when you want some squash flavour but it doesn’t have to be the star. Really the texture is what makes it stand out to me – it’s potato-y and smooth. The flesh is a nice pale orangey-yellow.

The seeds are large but flat, fine for eating. Overall I would have it again, but only if my favourite varieties weren’t available. I would rate it slightly higher than an average butternut, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

